Recital grades

LCME Recital Grades

Recital Grades offer candidates the opportunity to enter graded exams focusing entirely or predominantly on performance. The exam comprises:

  • Four pieces (chosen from the graded lists), and
  • EITHER a fifth piece OR sight reading OR discussion
    • Please note that Recital exams for Acoustic Guitar, Electric Guitar, Rock Guitar and Ukulele currently have no sight-reading or discussion component. Please refer to their current syllabus for their specific requirements.

Pieces do not have to be chosen from different lists, allowing flexibility in repertoire selection. Leisure Play Repertoire may also be used for the relevant Recital Grade examinations.

Assessment bands are as follows:

  • 85-100% - Distinction
  • 75-84% - Merit
  • 65-74% - Pass
  • 0-64% - Unsuccessful

In the UK, LCME's recital grades are regulated by OfqualQualifications Wales and CCEA at Levels 1, 2 and 3 of the Regulated Qualifications Framework, and UCAS points are awarded for Grades 6–8.

LCME's recital grades are also included in the European Qualifications Framework (EQF).

Other exam levels