There are eight LCM Timpani grades.

The standard graded exams consist of a performance of three pieces, technical work (tuning test), sight reading, a discussion and aural tests.

We also provide alternatives to our standard examination format designed to offer something different to our diverse range of candidates:

  • Recital – an exam entirely or predominantly performance-based
  • Leisure Play – a performance of four pieces, with an optional own-choice piece
  • Performance Award – a performance-based assessment by video submission


What’s in the exam


Exam content

  • Technical work
  • Performance (3 pieces)
  • Discussion
  • Sight reading
  • Aural tests
Leisure Play

Exam content

  • Performance (4 pieces)

Exam content

  • Performance (4 pieces)
  • Additional piece/Sight reading/Discussion