Recital grades

The Recital Grades syllabus offers candidates the opportunity to enter for graded exams focusing entirely, or predominantly, on performance. The exam comprises:

  • Four pieces (chosen from the graded lists), and
  • EITHER a fifth piece OR sight reading OR viva voce

Pieces do not have to be chosen from different lists, allowing flexibility in repertoire selection.

Assessment bands are as follows:

  • 85-100% - Distinction
  • 75-84% - Merit
  • 65-74% - Pass
  • 0-64% - Unsuccessful

In the UK, LCM's recital grades are regulated by Ofqual, DfES and CCEA at Levels 1, 2 and 3 of the Qualifications and Credit Framework.

LCM's recital grades are now also included on the European Qualifications Framework (EQF).